RSS Feed

Weight plates and hot dates.

Happy Friday, everyone! After a night of near-insomnia, I woke up bright and early to get started on my day. After getting a few chores done, Mike and I rushed out the door to the gym around 9:40am to make a 10:00am class. Mike is always willing to try something new and he actually doesn’t mind taking classes at our gym. My mom always asks why I “make” him do it, and the truth is, I don’t! He usually takes step class with me on Tuesday nights, and he’s done Attack with me, too. This morning, however, we were headed to BodyPump! Now, unlike two of my favorite bloggers Julie and Courtney, I do not love Pump. I know that it’s good for me and that weight training is 100% necessary in a workout plan, but I just can’t get into it. BodyPump works each muscle group over the course of an hour. I would much rather do that than work out by myself on the weight floor because I know that I’ll get a comprehensive workout rather than just wandering aimlessly around pretending to lift. Anyway, I will pretend to love it for the sake of doing my body good.

I drank a glass of water when I woke up and brought our breakfast in the car with us. I hate eating in the morning regardless of whether or not I’m working out, so I grabbed something small. Have you guys seen these new Gatorade protein bars? I saw them on sale at Target last weekend and thought I’d try a few. It’s one per package, but the bar is broken up into four pieces so you can eat however much you want based on what kind of fuel you need. I had two pieces of this Cinnamon Raisin Flax bar (it also comes in Cranberry Pistachio and Chocolate Banana) and the cherry NutriGrain. Not the most nutritious breakfast, but better than not eating.

We were running late and between that and my lack of sleep I was in a fantastic mood. I hate getting to classes late. We got there right as the warm-up was ending and I was able to set up quickly and get myself together before the squats started. It’s crazy to me how I sweat more in that class, and drink more water, than in any cardio class I take. It’s been a while since I’ve done Pump. I’m sure I’ll be feeling it tomorrow.

Here are a few articles on why strength training is an important addition to your fitness routine (especially for women):

Cardio vs. Strength Training Workouts: A Women’s Health Fitness Faceoff

The Benefits of Strength Training for Women 

6 Reasons to Add Strength Training to Your Workout Plan

After the gym we had plans to go check out an apartment complex. We are moving in five weeks (holy crap) and are still trying to decide where we’re going (holy crap X 2). The apartment complex was only a few minutes down the road from the gym, so we went straight there. The apartment that we viewed was pretty nice. Mike liked it better than previous ones we’ve toured. We will be making a decision within the next few days, so I’ll keep you posted.

On the way home from apartment hunting, we stopped for lunch at one of my favorite local Greek restaurants, Athena Cafe. I was introduced to this little restaurant in 2006 and have been going back ever since. Their prices are low, flavors are authentic, and the portions are huge. They also make the BEST potato salad. My favorite thing to get is their grilled chicken Greek salad. They start with a healthy serving of romaine lettuce and top with tomatoes, onions, green bell pepper, feta cheese, kalamata olives, a small scoop of potato salad, and top it off with souvlaki marinated, boneless, skinless chicken breasts. It’s a HUGE salad, and I was ready for it. Mike ordered the gyro, always delicious! While we were waiting we dominated a basket of warm pita bread and fresh tzatziki sauce.

Didn't stand a chance.

Monster salad.

Gyro deliciousness.

Mike polished off his gyro before I could even have a bite! I did manage to steal a fry or two, though. My salad was incredible and was inhaled accordingly. It was a nice lunch after a busy morning. My date was pretty easy on the eyes, too.

I love this man.

We have a pretty easy evening planned. I haven’t been sleeping very well so I’m going to try to rest tonight. I think we’re going to make a trip to the grocery store and make dinner. Tomorrow we have plans to go to Sea World with two of our best friends. We got the “play for a day, come back all year” tickets to Sea World in May and haven’t been able to go back until now. We’re very excited to spend the day with our good friends at a place we love. Good times ahead!  I will be sure to take plenty of photos and share all of the love!

Is there a part of your workout routine that you could live without? How do you keep yourself motivated to continue?

What fancy plans to you all have this weekend?

Thanks for reading!

R

7 responses »

  1. I ride a bike 2-4 miles, that’s my workout. And my plans are to hang out with a cute guy, see you, see Harry Potter and that’s about it! Oh, and clean a bit, and get some lovin from ma dags 🙂

    Reply
  2. Funny how Mike devoured his gyro before you got a bite. Reminds me of when we went to Ale House that night.

    Reply
  3. omg athena!!! i’ve never had a greek salad as amazing… or tzaziki for that matter….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

