RSS Feed

Catching ZZZs.

I finally got some sleep last night! Because I’ve mentioned it a few times already, I figured I’d address my sleeping issues. This is a healthy living blog, and getting proper sleep is an integral part of a healthy lifestyle. Not being able to sleep affects the body in so many ways, and the effects that improper sleep can have on the body can be detrimental. Most nights, no matter how tired I am, I lie awake in bed held prisoner by my thoughts. Every three or four nights my body decides to stop hating me and let me get some rest.

Someone has no trouble sleeping.

I’ve suffered from insomnia for at least four years. It’s never been properly diagnosed because I have always attributed it to something going on in my life and figured it would go away. Even when I’ve mentioned my trouble sleeping to my doctor, she has always commented on the stress that I am under. Unfortunately, there is no magic cure for insomnia. When I first started having trouble sleeping I tried melatonin. It is naturally occurring in the body, and it is rather inexpensive. You can buy it in most major grocery stores and vitamin shops, and it is available in varying milligram levels. Melatonin is a natural and economical option to help you fall asleep, however, I noticed that after taking it for a few months I had to increase the dosage and then it kind of stopped working altogether. I’ve never tried taking any prescription medications to help me sleep. The idea of depending on something to sleep, and the potential to feel groggy the next day is so unappealing to me. I have also heard some really scary things about sleeping pills.

Such a hard life.

I have noticed that there is a distinct connection between my insomnia and my stress and depression levels. My brain never ever slows down. There is a whirlwind of thoughts going on at all times. This is something that not only affects my ability to sleep, but to relax as well. I am always fidgeting, writing, doodling, reading something on my phone…anything. I cannot sit and just relax. I know that right now Mike and I are under a huge amount of stress and that it affecting me in a big way. Even during this rough time, I am working on being kind to my body. I have been eating well, exercising at least 5 days a week, and trying not to be so hard on myself.

After sleeping for 12 hours, I woke up this morning feeling pretty out of it. After a huge stretch, I started my day with a healthy lunch of a turkey wrap with lettuce, tomatoes, mayo, spicy mustard, and havarti cheese, and cantaloupe, cherries, and carrot sticks on the side. (This sentence is disgraceful, pardon me.) Oh, and half of a doughnut. I am not usually a huge fan of tortillas or sandwich wraps, but I found these new wraps at Publix and they are actually delicious! They are made by Olé Mexican Foods and each wrap has 74 calories, 2 grams of fat, 12 (TWELVE!) grams of fiber, and 7 grams of protein. Not too shabby, eh? I got the Spinach & Herb flavor and I was seriously impressed. 

I spent the time after lunch applying for jobs and planning my gym schedule for the rest of the week. I have a 5:30pm BodyAttack class tonight and then I have some cleaning to do. Sounds like a blast doesn’t it?

Here are some articles from the National Sleep Foundation on sleep and insomnia:

Can’t Sleep? What To Know About Insomnia

ABCs of ZZZZs — When you Can’t Sleep

Have you ever had difficulty sleeping? What did you do to help?

Thanks for reading!

R

2 responses »

  1. Doc recommended valerian root, that you can combine w/ melatonin. she said it’s been researched, it’s not addictive. it basically helps calm you down. and if you wake up in your sleep a lot, it helps you go back to sleep easier. i’ve been taking that combo the last few nights cuz it’s been very hard to sleep lately.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

