RSS Feed

Bundle of nerves.

Good news! I slept again last night. I was feeling tired, but I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to sleep because I was feeling so anxious and nervous. Today I have a telephone hearing for my appeal to unemployment. I was fired from my job three weeks before Mike and I got married without any reasonable explanation. Today make things even better, my ex-employers have denied me unemployment. I have been following all of the protocol for unemployment claims up to this point, and this is the moment I’ve been waiting for. If I win the appeal, I will receive retro pay from my first claim on May 1st. I have never done this before, so I did a little bit of research on what I should expect, and the outlook is grim. I don’t have any evidence or witnesses to how I was treated at my last job, and that is what the state assigned mediator is looking for. I have been sick about this since I found out the date of the hearing. I have tried to remain positive, but I’m still incredibly nervous. Thankfully, Mike is off today and will be here to support me through the hearing.

I woke up around 10:30am and had a small breakfast of a banana with cereal and almond milk. The Cascadian Farms organic cereals were on sale this week so I picked up their version of cinnamon toast crunch. We also bought the unsweetened almond milk to try. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed almond milk when we first bought it. I love cow’s milk, but for things like cereal, I like the idea of using fewer calories.

After breakfast I took a shower and got ready for an interview that I have at 4:00pm. I would have preferred to schedule the interview for this morning, but afternoon was all they had available and beggars can’t really be choosers right now. I’m not feeling incredibly confident at the moment, but I will go in there with my head held high and try my best to leave a lasting (hopefully good) impression on them.

For lunch today I had a summer fruit plate of nectarine, cherries, and strawberries. I followed that up with a turkey wrap identical to the one I had yesterday and half a doughnut. I inhaled it so quickly I didn’t have time to take a picture! If you can’t tell by now, I’m a bit of a sweets freak. I have to have a little something to finish my meal. Mike and I are a big fan of the Publix bakery. Not the greatest nutrition-wise, but I can eat a piece of something and be satisfied.

After the phone hearing and my interview, Mike and I will be heading to the gym to take a step class with one of our favorite instructors, Katie. Hopefully we will be able to burn off some of the stress we’ve been under lately and get a good workout, too. I think I’m making homemade pizza and salad for dinner tonight. I think I’ll have time to make the dough before we leave so that it can rise while we’re out. I’ll be back later with an update!

Thanks for reading,

R

One response »

  1. The hearing will go fine! I will be praying for you! As for that fruit, YUM. Looks so good!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

