RSS Feed

Playing catch-up. (And some good news!)

I went my first day without posting. When I started this blog (just over a week ago), I committed myself to one post a day. I didn’t take coming up with content into consideration. Oops. Because I’m currently unemployed and we’ve yet to win the lottery, I feel my everyday routine is rather boring. I don’t want my readers staring at the same three meals a day wishing I would write something else. I have a few ideas swirling around for posts, and this week I will focus on that. Now, though, I’ll sit down with my snack and fill you in on the past two days.

A little too obsessed with this stuff lately.

As I mentioned on Wednesday, Mike was feeling pretty sick. He ended up staying home yesterday, too. I woke up late and had brunch around 11:00am. I finished off the fruit salad from the night before and toasted up a bagel. I topped that sucker with some low-fat cream cheese and sliced tomato. Man, I love cream cheese. I LOVE it. I found these bagels in Publix after reading about them online. They aren’t that big, but for 110 calories and 7 grams of protein, they do a decent job of satisfying the bagel craving.

I pretty much lazed around all day yesterday until it was time to go to the gym. I think Mike’s under the weather-ness got me feeling a little down in the dumps. This week has been very stressful for us between the unemployment hearing and trying to figure out where we’re going to be moving. We now have only four weeks until our lease is up and no real prospective housing options.

At the gym yesterday, I did BodyAttack. I was pretty sore from doing Pump on Wednesday, but I powered it out and went home to take care of a sick hubby. By the time I got out of the car and to the stairs of the apartment, my legs were begging me not to climb the stairs. That was fun. For dinner last night we had some leftover homemade pizza with a fruit salad identical to the one we had the night before. It was such a great combination that I wanted it again. Plus, the mangoes looked like they only had one day left, lol.

I went back for seconds of both.

Can you believe I was in bed before 9:30pm last night? I felt tired, but of course the minute I tried to fall asleep my thoughts were swirling around. Mike finally got me to sleep with a really boring story around 11:30pm. I’m really glad that my husband is comfortable with the fact that he can talk about things he’s interested in for twenty-or-so minutes and I pass the eff out. He’s a keeper!

I woke up early this morning and had breakfast before my 10:00am BodyPump class. I’m getting into the habit of doing Pump three times a week to be consistent with strength training. I’ve actually been able to increase my weight a little bit, which is awesome. After Pump I did 10 minutes on the arc trainer (my new arch nemesis) and 10 minutes of intervals on the dreadmill treadmill.  

We ran out of tomatoes.

Ready to PAHMP you AHP!

Mike was awake and semi-functioning when I got home. We made a quick lunch of leftover brinner (for Mike) and fruit and a turkey wrap (for me – surprise, surprise). While we ate we talked a little about the future and tried to get ourselves into a more positive mood. That mood carried over when we got some good news! My unemployment decision came in the mail and the original decision was REVERSED! Woohoo! This means that I can get unemployment benefits and that I will receive back-pay for all of the weeks I’ve claimed to this point. It can take up to three weeks for me to get paid, but at least we know that we will have additional income while I’m still looking for work. That’s a bit of weight off our shoulders at the moment and we couldn’t be happier.

Stormy is very much relieved, as well.

That’s about all we’ve had going on the past two days. Mike is feeling a little bit better and we are about to head out to get some moving boxes and stop at the store for something to cook for dinner. Stay tuned for some new posts tomorrow! We’re going to the Farmer’s Market and also having a special guest cook dinner with us!

Hope everyone is having a great Friday!

Thanks for reading,

R

2 responses »

  1. IRobin, am so so thrilled for you. I love reading your blog. It’s funny, or not hp\ow things come back around. You hated breakfast as a child, now your loving it. Love to Mike, I hope he feels better soon.

    Reply
  2. I’m glad to read that your unemployment came in your favor! Nice, Robbie!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

