RSS Feed

Slim Pickin’s

Good morning! I am up incredibly early for a Saturday morning because someone was making noise in the kitchen. I won’t name any names, but I caught him red handed with a spoon in the chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream. He has a gift of being able to immediately fall back to sleep, while I, of course, am wide awake. He’ll be jolted in a few minutes when the alarm goes off to get up for the gym. We’ll be heading to BodyStep this morning before we hit the Farmer’s Market. First, though, I want to tell you about what I pulled out of my, um, hat for last night’s dinner.

My snack while making dinner. The PERFECT fruit for 3532623574 degree weather.

We have some VERY slim pickin’s in our refrigerator right now. We knew that we had to work with what we had, and after some major whining on my part time to think about it, I came up with something nutritious and delicious. Working with random ingredients makes me feel like I’m on an episode of Chopped. In my best Ted Allen, “All right, you have a guava gummi bear, a shoelace, frozen spinach, and a two by four. You have 19 minutes to come up with a fabulous dessert. Your time starts….NOW.” Okay, so maybe that was a mix of Ted Allen and MacGyver, but you catch my drift.

I knew that we needed protein and vegetables and that Mike loves rice. I pulled some half-rotten green beans that needed to be used out of the fridge and cut them into bite-sized pieces. My new favorite way to cook green beans is to saute them in olive oil. They maintain their crunchiness better this way (I feel) than other methods of cooking. I centered our meal around sauteing green beans. I put them in a pan with some olive oil and a tablespoon of butter. I also grabbed a lone sweet potato and partially cooked it for three minutes in the microwave before dicing it and adding it to the pan with the green beans. 

Once those cooked for a while I added the protein. In this case, a can of garbanzo beans. I seasoned everything with salt, pepper, and Penzey’s Vindaloo seasoning. Vindaloo seasoning is a spice blend containing coriander, garlic, cumin, ginger, cinnamon, brown mustard, red pepper, jalapeno, cardamom, turmeric, Tellicherry black pepper, and cloves. It provides a spicy, yet sweet, flavoring and is used in several types of Indian dishes. I may or may not have added a little bit more olive oil and butter to the pan to make sure the chick peas got a little crunchy. I split the entire pan of vegetable goodness over some jasmine rice and bon appetit dinner was served. 

This impromptu meal came together surprisingly well. The flavor was delicious, but my favorite part was all of the different textures. The crunch from the green beans, the soft sweet potato, and the firm and slightly crispy garbanzo beans combined with the pillowy jasmine rice was a Riverdance on my palate. I scarfed mine down in approximately 4 minutes. I wasn’t sure how Mike would react to this vegetarian bowl, but he said he liked it. 

Ted Allen: “Congratulations, you have not been chopped.”

Unfortunately, I didn’t get a $10,000 check to take home with me. Sigh.

For my pre-workout fuel this morning I had a blueberry Chobani with sliced almonds, some cinnamon crunch cereal, and a few cherries.

Now it’s time to pull Mike out of bed so we can make it to the gym on time! I’ll be back later with tales from the Farmer’s Market.

Thanks for reading!

R

2 responses »

  1. Wow, I may have to try this dish, sounds interesting and fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

