RSS Feed

Sunday + Emotional eating.

Good evening, readers. I hope everyone is having a great weekend. Yesterday was a great day for Mike and me. When I went to sleep last night, I was motivated and had every intention of sleeping in, waking up when I was ready, getting some sort of exercise (even though I wasn’t planning on going to the gym), and getting some things done in the house. This morning, however, I just felt crappy. When I woke up I felt really tired and my body felt heavy. Mike even pointed out the bags under my eyes. Thanks, honey! Once Mike left for work, peeled myself out of bed and took a shower. My stomach has been bothering me recently so I had a peach Chobani for breakfast and worked on writing a little bit. Around 11:45am I was actually hungry and made myself a plate of fruits and veggies with some homemade hummus.

This just screams "summer!" to me.

After I ate I sat and stared at the computer for a little bit. I have had the writing bug recently, and there are a lot of posts that I want to do for Everyday Folks, but this morning nothing was coming to me. Around 2:15pm, Mike called on his break to let me know a few things going on at work. He found out that he’ll be able to work a little bit of overtime this week. That’s good news, considering he hasn’t been able to work any OT recently and we really need the money. I can’t help but think that now we’ll have less time to spend together, but I know that he’s doing this for us and our little family and I really need to pull my head out of my ass. Around 3:00pm I had some leftovers from last night and a small piece of leftover homemade pizza. I also had a small bowl of ice cream. I’m not typically an ice cream fiend, but it’s been so hot outside that it really hits the spot lately.

I spent a lot of time reading blogs today. I love reading other people’s stories and seeing their writing styles. It often is exactly what I need to get myself writing again. There is something therapeutic about writing out your thoughts. I talked to Mike again around 5:00pm (he always calls on his breaks) and then decided to make an early dinner.

I usually wait until Mike gets home around 10:30pm to eat dinner with him, and I know I decided to eat early tonight out of boredom and emotions. Food is, and always has been, a comfort to me. I am highly self-aware of my emotional eating, yet it’s so hard to stop. It fills a void that nothing else can really fill. I hate that I engage in these unhealthy behaviors and I know that it does more harm than good to my body. This is something I need to work on desperately.

For dinner, I had an egg white sandwich on an onion Western Bagel with a thin slice of Havarti cheese and a slice of tomato. I served it with the rest of the tomato and some watermelon. This meal was light, healthful, and filling. Despite the fact that I ate early for the wrong reason, I’m proud of myself eating healthily instead of for polishing off the ice cream or eating six bags of chips. 

I’m going to try to make the most of the rest of this day and do some laundry and prepare for the two interviews that I have tomorrow. I’m going to get a good night’s sleep (God willing) and show those people why they want to hire me. All thoughts and prayers are greatly appreciated, as always.

Thank you for reading!

R

One response »

  1. Love your writing. My thought and prayers are always with you. LYM KG

    Reply

Leave a Reply

