RSS Feed

Sayonara, Sunshine State.

Once we made the decision (again) to leave Florida, we didn’t waste any time blowing that joint. Within two days we had packed everything that we possibly fit into my car and Mike’s trunk. We said our goodbyes to Mike’s mom and gathered our thoughts for a few minutes before hitting the road. We decided to start our trip on Thursday night instead of Friday morning because we were pretty wired and knew we wouldn’t get much sleep.

Leaving Tampa was bittersweet. I don’t think that it had quite hit me that were were leaving the only state I’d ever lived and moving 2500 miles away. Unfortunately, because we had two cars, it wasn’t going to be a super fun road trip. I knew it would be a little lonely driving by myself, but at least I didn’t have to fight with anyone about what to listen to on the radio.

Here are the not so gory details:

1. We left on Thursday, August 26th at 11:00pm EST. It was humid and disgusting, as August in Florida usually is.

2. The first night/day we drove for almost 20 hours. We drove past Atlanta, GA at 6:00am on Friday morning, stopped in Tennessee for breakfast at the McD’s, and ended up in the evening rush through St. Louis. Why the heck would anyone live in St. Louis? Seriously. I didn’t even want to get gas in St. Louis.

3. We stopped for the night around 7:00pm in Somefuckingtown, MO and stayed in the skeeziest motel I’ve ever been in. It was disgusting and everything felt damp and smelled like smoke, but we were so tired we didn’t care.

4. McD’s for breakfast again.

5. We spent the day driving through the rest of Missouri and Kansas. Flat. Brown. Hot. That’s about it.

6. Mike nearly died from allergies on this trip. He spent the majority of the trip driving with one contact lens in and his eyes almost swollen shut. bless that man.

7. We arrived in Colorado just as the sun was starting to set and it was dark by the time we got to Denver.

8. We stayed in Fort Collins at a Hampton in and it was like the Taj Mahal compared to the shit hole we stayed in the night before. We got a good night of sleep and set out for the last leg of our journey to our new home.

9. The next morning, after drugging up the Hubs on Claritin, we hit the road. McD’s was consumed again. We finally got to see some clear blue skies and the Rocky Mountains.

10. I lost track of how many times I called Mike to ask “are we there yet?” We weren’t.

11. Wyoming was pretty to drive through. The mountains were huge. My ears kept popping from the changes in altitude.

12. We got into Montana early Sunday afternoon and into Billings at around 4:00pm MST.

I don't remember seeing this sign.

13. I swore of McD’s forever. That didn’t last long.

We’ve been in Montana for eight months now. To be honest, I still don’t feel like we live here. There is a completely different way of life here. It doesn’t feel like home. It’s not all bad, though. We have been very fortunate to have Jen and Dustin take us in, we’re both employed, we’ve made a few new friends, and we’re working to rebuild some of the mess that was made in Florida.

I’m sure I’ll do a few Montana posts eventually. For now, here is a little glimpse into some of things we’ve been up to since we got here.

We walked/jogged our first Turkey Trot. We cheated skipped a mile due to inadequate course signage. That's how we roll run.

Jen and I whipped up this awesome Thanksgiving dinner.

Just a little of the white stuff. It's been a very mild winter.

Mike turned 32!

We got a new car!

I made a friend at the zoo.

Someone got spoiled on Easter.

I’ve been horrible about taking pictures since we’ve been here, but Mike bought me an awesome camera for Christmas and I plan on putting it to good use! I’m trying to decide which direction to take the blog, so bear with me while post random things for the time being.

Thanks for reading!

4 responses »

  1. You didn’t tell me about the new car! Love the pics.

    Reply
  2. Peggles and I are so happy that you are happy up there in Big Sky territory. It’s no coincidence that as soon as you left Dwight Howard wanted to be traded!!! Hope all continues to go well for the Folks. Maybe on your birthday you will answer the phone when I call….

    Reply
  3. Boo, never thought you liked McD’s so much hahahaha!!! ❤ you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

